Professor and Chair, Cardiothoracic Surgery
President's Council Chair for Excellence in Surgery

Dr. Calhoon obtained his medical degree at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Texas in 1981. He is Board Certified in Thoracic Surgery and Congenital Cardiac Surgery. He joined the group in 1989...

Adult Cardiac Surgery

Professor and Program Director of Thoracic Surgery Residency
Director of Cardiac Surgery, University Health Systems

Dr. Carpenter earned her PhD in Physiology from Penn State University in 1981 and her medical degree from George Washington University in 1989. She is Board Certified in Surgery and Thoracic Surgery...

Professor and Vice Chair, Cardiothoracic Surgery
Chief of Division, Adult Cardiac Surgery
J. Kent Trinkle Chair in Thoracic Surgery

Dr. Sako obtained his medical degree from the University of Minnesota School of Medicine, Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1982 and obtained his PhD in 1991. He is Board Certified in Surgery and Thoracic...
Assistant Professor and Associate Program Director for Thoracic Surgery Residency
Dr. Stasik earned his undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Michigan. He trained in General Surgery at the University of Florida, followed by a fellowship in Cardiothoracic Surgery...

Congenital Cardiothoracic Surgery

Professor and Associate Program Director Thoracic Surgery Residency
Chief of Division, Congenital Cardiothoracic Surgery
William Randolph Hearst Chair, Congenital Heart Disease

Dr. Husain obtained his Medical Degree from the University of North Dakota where he was a Ray Dugan Memorial Academic Scholar. He completed a residency in General Surgery at the University of Iowa...

General Thoracic Surgery

Associate Professor and Associate Program Director for Thoracic Surgery Residency
Dr. DeArmond specializes in minimally invasive thoracic surgery: Performs video-assisted thoracoscopic (VATS) and robotic-assisted pulmonary, esophageal, and mediastinal surgery with an emphasis on...

Associate Professor
Chief, General Thoracic Surgery
Director of Lung Transplantation
Chiscano Endowed Professorship for Research & Education

Dr. Johnson received his medical degree in 1987 from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine in Albuquerque, New Mexico. He is Board Certified in Surgery, Surgical Critical Care, and Thoracic...
Assistant Professor
Dr. Makey earned his Medical Degree at Tulane Medical School in New Orleans LA in 2006 where he received the Sam McCool Excellence in Surgery Award.  He completed General Surgery and Cardiothoracic...


Clinical Professor

Dr. Baisden obtained his medical degree at The University of Oklahoma Medical School in 1975. He is currently certified with The American Board of Thoracic Surgery. He joined this program in March of...
Clinical Assistant Professor
Dr. Alfonso Chiscano studied at the German School, Escuelas Pias in Tenerife, Jesuit School in Madrid and National Institute of Santa Cruz de Tenerife. He got his degree in Medicine in 1962 at the...


Director of Finance & Administration